You are here

Academic Calendar, 2016-2017

Fall Semester, 2016

Opening Faculty Meeting August 17, Wednesday
Orientation for New Students August 19-23 Friday-Tuesday
*Opening Convocation August 19, Friday
Classes Begin August 24, Wednesday
Drop/Add Period Ends August 30, Tuesday
**Enrollment Clearance Ends August 30, Tuesday
Extended Drop Period Begins August 31, Wednesday
Labor Day Recess September 5, Monday
Pass/Fail Option Ends September 14, Wednesday
Extended Drop Period Ends September 14, Wednesday
Withdraw Period Begins September 15, Thursday
Last Day to Remove Conditional Grades September 21, Wednesday
End of First Seven Weeks Classes October 12, Wednesday
Mid-Term Grades Due October 14, Friday, 5 p.m.
Fall Recess Begins October 14, Friday, 10:00 p.m.
Classes Resume October 19, Wednesday
Spring, 2017, Registration Begins October 26, Wednesday
Withdraw Period Ends October 28, Friday
Thanksgiving Recess Begins November 22, Tuesday, 10:00 p.m.
Classes Resume November 28, Monday
Classes End December 7, Wednesday, 10:00 p.m.
Reading Day December 8, Thursday
Final Examinations December 9-14, Friday-Wednesday
End of Fall Semester December 14, Wednesday
Final Grades Due December 16, Friday, 5:00 p.m.

Spring Semester, 2017

Classes Begin January 11, Wednesday
Martin Luther King Day Observance January 16, Monday
Drop/Add Period Ends January 18, Wednesday
**Enrollment Clearance Deadline January 18, Wednesday
Extended Drop Period Begins January 19, Thursday
Pass/Fail Option Ends February 1, Wednesday
Extended Drop Period Ends February 1, Wednesday
Withdraw Period Begins February 2, Thursday
Last Day to Remove Conditional Grades February 8, Wednesday
End of First Seven Weeks Classes March 1, Wednesday
Mid-Term Grades Due March 3, Friday, 5:00 p.m.
Spring Recess Begins March 3, Friday, 10:00 p.m.
Classes Resume March 13, Monday
Fall, 2017, Registration Begins March 22, Wednesday
Withdraw Period Ends March 24, Friday
Easter Recess Begins April 12, Wednesday, 10:00 p.m.
Classes Resume April 17, Monday
Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Symposium April 28, Friday
*Awards Convocation April 28, Friday, 9:00 a.m.
Reading Days April 29, Saturday, and May 4, Thursday
Final Examinations May 1 - May 6, Monday-Saturday
End of Spring Semester May 6, Saturday
Final Grades Due May 8, Monday, 9:00 a.m.
*Baccalaureate Service May 12, Friday, 3:30 p.m.
*Commencement May 13, Saturday, 9:30 a.m.

Summer Term 2017

Session I Begins May 15, Monday
Session 1 Add Ends May 16, Tuesday
Session I Drop and Pass/Fail Ends May 19, Friday
Memorial Day Holiday, No Classes May 29, Monday
Session I Withdraw Period Ends June 2, Friday
Session I Last Day of Classes June 16, Friday
Session I Final Exams June 17, Saturday
Session I Final Grades Due June 19, Monday, Noon
Session II Begins June 21, Wednesday
Session II Add Ends June 22, Thursday
Session II Drop and Pass/Fail Ends June 27, Tuesday
Independence Day Holiday, No Classes July 4, Tuesday
Session II Withdraw Ends July 11, Tuesday
Session II Classes End July 25, Tuesday
Session II Final Exams July 26, Wednesday
Session II Final Grades Due July 28, Friday, Noon
Full Session Final Grades Due August 4, Friday, 5 p.m.

* Formal Academic Occasion
**Required of all students