Published on Rhodes College: Rhodes Catalogue (https://catalog.rhodes.edu/)

Academic Calendar

The academic year consists of two semesters, each containing fourteen weeks of instruction and a fifteenth week devoted to examinations. The first semester begins in late August and ends in mid-December; the second semester begins in January and ends in early May. Summer course offerings consist of two 5 week sessions as well as various academic study programs offered across the curriculum. A detailed calendar including dates of recesses and special academic days is included in the catalogue, and may be found elsewhere on the website. 

2020-2021 Academic Calendar
Fall Semester 2020  
Opening Faculty Meeting August 19, Wednesday
Orientation for New Students August 20-25, Thursday - Tuesday
Opening Convocation *Formal Academic Occasion* August 22, Saturday
Classes Begin August 26, Wednesday
Drop/Add Period Ends September 1, Tuesday
Enrollment Clearance Ends September 1, Tuesday
Pass/Fail Option Ends October 30, Friday 5 p.m.
Extended Drop Period Ends September 15, Tuesday, 5 p.m.
Withdraw Period Begins September 16, Wednesday
Last Day to Remove Conditional Grades September 23, Wednesday
End of First Seven Weeks October 14, Wednesday
Mid-Term Grades Due October 16, Friday, 5 p.m.
Fall Recess - No Travel * October 21, Wednesday
Classes Resume October 22, Thursday
Spring 2021 Registration Begins October 28, Wednesday
Withdraw Period and Pass/Fail Option End October 30, Friday 5 p.m.
Thanksgiving Recess Begins-Students Return Home November 24, Tuesday, 10 p.m.
Classes Resume Remotely November 30, Monday
Classes End December 4, Friday, 10 p.m.
Reading Days December 5-6, Saturday-Sunday
Final Examinations December 7 - 11, Monday - Friday
End of Fall Semester December 11, Friday
Final Grades Due December 14, Monday, 9 a.m.
   
Spring Semester 2021, Revised Calendar  
Orientation for New Students Begins January 21, Thursday
Classes Begin January 27, Wednesday
Enrollment Clearance Ends February 2, Tuesday, 5 p.m.
Last Day to Add a Class February 2, Tuesday, 5 p.m.
Extended Drop Period Begins February 3, Wednesday
Pass/Fail Option Ends February 16, Tuesday, 5 p.m.
Extended Drop Period Ends  February 16, Tuesday, 5 p.m.
Withdraw Period Begins February 17, Wednesday
Last Day to Remove Conditional Grade February 23, Tuesday
Spring Break March 1-2, Monday-Tuesday
End of First Seven Weeks March 16, Tuesday
Mid-Term Grades Due March 18,  Thursday, 5 p.m.
Spring/Easter Recess Begins March 31, Wednesday, 10 p.m.
Spring/Easter Recess Ends April 5, Monday, 8 a.m.
Fall 2021 Pre-Registration Opens April 7, Wednesday
Withdraw Period Ends April 9, Friday, 5 p.m.
Awards Convocation *Formal Academic Occasion* April 30, Friday
Rhodes Symposium  
Classes End April 30, Friday, 10 p.m.
Final Examinations Begin May 3, Monday
Reading Day May 6, Thursday
Final Examinations End/End of Semester May 8, Saturday
Final Grades Due May 10, Monday, 9 a.m.
Baccalaureate May 14, Friday
Commencement May 15, Saturday
   
Summer 2021 Term  
Summer Session I  
Classes Begin  May 17, Monday
Last Day to add May 18, Tuesday
Drop and Pass/Fail End May 21, Friday
Memorial Day Holiday/No Classes May 31, Monday
Withdraw Period Ends June 4, Friday
Classes End June 18, Friday
Final Exams June 19, Saturday
Final Grades Due June 21, Monday, NOON
   
Summer Session II  
Classes Begin Wednesday, June 23
Add Period Ends June 24, Thursday
Drop and Pass/Fail End June 29, Tuesday
Independence Day Holiday/No Classes July 5, Monday
Withdraw Ends July 13, Tuesday
Classes End July 27, Tuesday
Final Exams Wednesday, July 28
Final Grades Due July 30, Friday, NOON
   
Full Summer Session Final Grades Due August 6, Friday, 5 p.m.
   
Pre-Mester 2021  
Student Move-In July 25, Sunday
First Day of Class July 26, Monday
End of Pre-Mester Term August 13, Friday
   
 

 

 

Printed from: https://catalog.rhodes.edu/general-information/academic-calendar


Academic Calendar 2021-2022

adamsd@rhodes.edu May 05, 2021

2021-2022 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2021   

Opening Faculty Meeting                                                       August 18, Wednesday

Orientation for New Students                                                 August 19-24, Thursday - Tuesday

Opening Convocation *Formal Academic Occasion*           August 20, Friday

Late Registration Begins                                                        August 23, Monday

Classes Begin                                                                          August 25, Wednesday

Late Registration Ends                                                           August 31, Tuesday

Enrollment Clearance Ends                                                    August 31, Tuesday

Extended Drop Period Begins                                                 September 1, Wednesday

Labor Day/No Classes                                                            September 6, Monday

Extended Drop Period Ends                                                   September 15, Wednesday, 5 p.m.

Withdraw Period Begins                                                         September 16, Thursday

Last Day to Remove Conditional Grades                               September 22, Wednesday

End of First Seven Weeks                                                      October 13, Wednesday

Mid-Term Grades Due                                                           October 15, Friday, 5 p.m.

Fall Recess Begins, 10 p.m.                                                    October 15, Friday

Fall Recess Ends 8 a.m.                                                          October 20, Wednesday

Spring 2022 Pre-Registration Begins                                     October 27, Wednesday

Pass/Fail Option Ends                                                             November 12, Friday

Withdraw Period Ends                                                           November 12, Friday

Thanksgiving Recess Begins                                                  November 23, Tuesday, 10 p.m.

Thanksgiving Recess Ends                                                     November 29, Monday, 8 a.m.

Classes End                                                                            December 8, Wednesday, 10 p.m.

Reading Day                                                                           December 9, Thursday

Final Examinations Begin                                                      December 10, Friday

Final Exams End/End of Fall Semester                                  December 15, Wednesday

Final Grades Due                                                                    December 17, Friday, 5 p.m.

           

Spring Semester 2022          

Orientation for New Students                                                 January 10, Monday

Late Registration Begins                                                        January 10, Monday

Classes Begin                                                                          January 12, Wednesday

Last Day to Submit Work for Conditional Grades                 January 12, Wednesday

MLK Jr Day/No Classes                                                         January 17, Monday

Enrollment Clearance Ends                                                    January 19, Wednesday

Late Registration Ends                                                           January 19, Wednesday, 5 p.m.

Extended Drop Period Begins                                                 January 20, Thursday

Extended Drop Period Ends                                                   February 2, Wednesday, 5 p.m.

Withdraw Period Begins                                                         February 3, Thursday

End of First Seven Weeks                                                      March 2, Wednesday

Mid-Term Grades Due                                                           March 7,  Monday, 9 a.m.

Spring Recess Begins                                                             March 11, Friday, 10 p.m.

Spring Recess Ends                                                                March 21, Monday, 8 a.m.

Fall 2022 Pre-Registration Opens                                          March 23, Wednesday

Pass/Fail Option Ends                                                             April 8, Friday

Withdraw Period Ends                                                           April 8, Friday

Easter Recess Begins                                                              April 13, Wednesday, 10 p.m.

Easter Recess Ends                                                                 April 18, Monday, 8 a.m.

Awards Convocation *Formal Academic Occasion*            April 29, Friday         

Rhodes Symposium                                                                April 29, Friday

Classes End                                                                            April 29, Friday, 10 p.m.

Reading Day                                                                           April 30, Saturday

Final Examinations Begin                                                      May 2, Monday

Reading Day                                                                           May 5, Thursday

Final Examinations End/End of Semester                              May 7, Saturday

Final Grades Due                                                                    May 9, Monday, 9 a.m.

Baccalaureate *Formal Academic Occasion*                        May 13, Friday

Commencement *Formal Academic Occasion*                    May 14, Saturday

           

Summer 2022 Term 

Summer Session I    

Classes Begin                                                                         May 16, Monday

Last Day to add                                                                      May 17, Tuesday

Drop Period Ends                                                                   May 20, Friday

Memorial Day Holiday/No Classes                                        May 30, Monday

Withdraw and Pass/Fail Options End                                     June 9, Thursday

Classes End                                                                            June 17, Friday

Final Exams                                                                            June 18, Saturday

Final Grades Due                                                                    June 20, Monday, NOON

           

Summer Session II   

Classes Begin                                                                          June 22, Wednesday

Add Period Ends                                                                    June 23, Thursday

Drop Period Ends                                                                   June 28, Tuesday

Independence Day Holiday/No Classes                                  July 4, Monday

Withdraw and Pass/Fail Options End                                     July 18, Monday

Classes End                                                                            July 26, Tuesday

Final Exams                                                                            July 27, Wednesday

Final Grades Due                                                                    July 29, Friday, NOON

           

Full Summer Session Final Grades Due                                 August 5, Friday, 5 p.m.

 

Printed from: https://catalog.rhodes.edu/general-information/academic-calendar/academic-calendar-2021-2022